This past Sunday, I redeemed my Groupon to the Urban Craft Center in Santa Monica and took a quilted pillow class. I’ve been wanting to learn to quilt for some time now and after buying that 30 lb. bag of quilting squares the desire seemed a little more urgent–and exciting! The amazing Alissa of Handmade by Alissa taught the class. It was nice and small–there were only three of us taking the class–and the best part was that we all finished our pillows during the class! I have to say, it’s so satisfying to be able to take home a finished project, especially when it’s a craft that you’ve never tried before. Talk about confidence-boosting!
The pillow-top itself is constructed using the log cabin method but with less precise (read: fussy) piecing. We used what’s referred to as “improvisational piecing”, and you can take a look at this link to see what improv piecing is all about. This piecing technique definitely made for a speedier finish to the top. I think we spent around 2 hours of the 4 hour class piecing, but I’m sure when I do this again it will take even less time. Once we finished piecing our tops, we made fabric sandwiches for the top and back, did a little pin-basting, and started quilting. As a true beginner, I chose to do straight-line quilting, which is exactly what it sounds like. Alissa also demonstrated free motion quilting, which produces a much more organic, whimsical look. Another of my classmates tried that method, and it came out wonderfully. The pillow back wasn’t pieced like the top, and the pillow sleeve construction was a nice envelope. I love that we didn’t have to mess with zippers! Enjoy looking at the fruits of my labors! I had a great time making this piece, and I am anxious to make many more quilted projects in the future.

