Now that I’ve been back from my vacation for a couple of weeks now, I’ve started to get back into the crafting groove (whew!). I’ve completed two projects lately. One of which I’m very pleased with, and will be posting for sale on our Etsy site (as soon as I learn how to do that…). It’s a flour-sack tea towel embellished with a darling little waitress from Sublime Stitching’s Krazy Kitchen pattern set. I also sewed on the rick-rack (because everybody loves rick-rack) and the sweet little gingham ribbon to make it all a little more special. Stitches I used were: backstitch, split stitch, running stitch, satin stitch, and a scalloping chain.

A couple of things: If you have extensive experience with the flour-sack tea towel, you will know that they are never quite satisfactorily wrinkle-free. Secondly, if you’re a needlecrafter and you’re not already familiar with Sublime Stitching (almost impossible at this point, I think), then acquainting yourself with Jenny Hart’s delightful little Austin-based company should be your first order of business (incidentally, I’m licensed to sell things made from their patterns….but that really has very little to do with why I think they’re great). She’s got an online store, a blog, tutorials…you name it. Her first book (aptly titled Sublime Stitching) was the first embroidery literature I ever picked up, and I’ve been continually pleased with the company’s products (stylish and always growing), their service (speedy and friendly), and Jenny herself (I met her at an open house here in LA and was a little bit starstruck…).

Speaking of Sublime Stitching…I received my latest purchase from them in the mail just this afternoon! I ordered a number of new patterns, and a couple of tools:

The stylus is for tracing my own designs with carbon paper. I’ve tried the old ball-point-pen method before, but I’ve never really been pleased with the outcome, so I thought if I had the proper tools, it might make all the difference in the world. And that tiny little blue box is filled with “Thread Heaven” . It’s a floss conditioner/protectant, and I’ve been hearing so many rave reviews about it, I decided I must try it (I’ll report back with the results!).

Now, the other project I finished…I feel a little bit more “meh” about this one, shall we say. I feel fine about the choice of pattern (Sublime Stitching’s Sushi Bar), and even fine about the outcome, except….When Regan was here this summer, there was a little bit of a mishap with some of the textiles and some wet yarn. It was a mess. Anyway, some of the dye from one of the yarns left little spots on a pack of tea towels, but I thought, “Hey, let’s be resourceful and just cover that spot up!” (I hate wastefulness, particularly when it comes to craft supplies). The result was, well, debatable. I’m very interested to know if anyone can spot the, uhh, spot.

On the upside though, I finally, FINALLY!!, after 3+ years of embroidering, learned how to successfully make a French knot!! This was the triumph of the century, as far as I was concerned…So I went a little nuts with it:

See how I made those little French knot rice kernels???

Well, that’s it for now! Flo will be up for sale on our Etsy as soon as I get that process figured out (Regan–help???!!). Happy Wednesday (get over that hump!!)!

