Neither Erin nor I have posted in quite a long time. Don’t fool yourself by thinking it’s because we don’t have time. It’s because both of us struggle with making time work for us.

Over the past few months, I have done quite a bit of crafting but I think I’m going to break my posts down by craft. That said, and as evidenced by the title of this post, knitting’s the jam–at least for today’s blog.

I decided in October that I needed to use up some of the yarn that has been languishing in my stash as either unfinished projects or projectless balls.  I found this partially completed, but totally wonky, scarf that I started who knows how long ago using a yummy lilac-toned Tabali yarn.

Yummy yummy delicious

I frogged the scarf (**for those of you not versed in knitting terminology, “frogging” means pulling out already knitted work. It gets its name because in order to pull out your knitting, you have to rip it, rip it. Get it?), and because I only had one skein of the yarn, I headed over to good ole’ Ravelry to look for a pattern that I could use that would be a quick and easy way to repurpose this yarn. I ended up choosing “Slouch Cap Redux” by Melissa “Missa” Mills. It only took me a couple of hours before I had a finished product. I look silly in hats because of my curls so I used my trusty styrofoam head and a sweet ex-student to model the hat.

Looks alright on my styrofoam head

Looks much better on Allison

I still have it, and I’ll certainly never wear it, so if you’re interested…

I also rediscovered an old FO (**finished object in knitting lingo) that I’d never bothered to block. It was knit with leftover Rowan kidsilk haze, a beautiful but rather frustrating yarn.

It comes in tons of gorgeous colors

Pinned to blocking mat

"All right Mr. De Mille, I'm ready for my close-up"

This scarf is also available for anyone who’s interested…

In October, I also got a commission from my close family friend, Kathryn, for a cowl.  Instead of stash busting, I made a little trip to one of my local Austin LYS’s (Little Yarn Store), Hill Country Weavers, to pick out her yarn. With the help of smart phone technology, Kathryn and I were able to pick out the yarn for her cowl via picture messaging.  She chose this fantastic variegated yarn, Cascade Yarns Eco Duo, a butter-soft alpaca-merino blend.

Seriously, you just want to rub it on your face. It's that soft.

After a few hours of plain ole’ stockinette stitch, my hank of Eco Duo transformed into Kathryn’s cowl. I don’t have a 100% finished photo of the cowl, but 90% will do…

I love the way the variegation created a subtle striped effect

While I was shopping for Kathryn’s yarn, another alpaca captured my attention. I didn’t have a particular pattern in mind, but I bought a hank of Cascade Yarns Baby Alpaca Chunky anyway.  This particular yarn is bulkier than the Eco Duo and is 100% alpaca rather than a blend. I knew I could whip up a quick, scrumptious cowl out of it, so it seemed worth it at the time.

This yarn comes in a number of lovely, natural colors

It turns out that it was worth it. A friend purchased the final product for her mother for Christmas.

In all its slouchy, alpaca glory

A shot of the cowl flat that demonstrates the pretty eyelet detail

As Austin’s “winter” approached, another friend solicited handknits from me, so I started to work on a traditional watchcap.  It worked up relatively quickly with the Cascade 220 that I used, and I think it turned out quite nicely.  I don’t have a photo of it on its recipient, so you get a pic of me in it instead…

As I mentioned earlier, hats don't really suit me but you get the idea

Last but not least, I finished a long-standing project just in time to bring it to its recipient.  I started this sweater before my best friend’s baby was born and didn’t finish it until she was about three months old. Turns out, that was pretty much perfect timing. It’s a frilly little pink baby sweater, and baby Faith wears it well.

Sweet sweater for a sweet baby

As per usual, I have a zillion UFOs (UnFinished Objects) on needles. Back to work!

